Hi everyone! Gizmoddict here and this is my review of the Kingston V300 SSD.

vlcsnap-2016-06-14-14h04m59s481

Whenever someone asks me to recommend an SSD which offers decent performance without being too heavy on the wallet, The V300 is the first product that comes to my mind. It is a tried and tested product and it has been in the market for quite a while too. My review of the V300 is completely based on my “end-user” experience with the product and I wouldn’t be diving too much into the specifications/technical aspects of the drive.

vlcsnap-2016-06-14-14h06m06s153

Since, the V300 is a budget oriented SSD, Most of its buyers will be the ones who are upgrading from the SATA Hard drives on their old Laptops/Desktops. Now, I do have an i7-4770K system with 16GB RAM of RAM to test out the SSD but I wanted to find out how much can a user using a normal Hard Drive can benefit from such SSD. Hence, I installed the V300 on my 4 year old Lenovo G570 Laptop that sports a 5400 RPM SATA drive. I loaded a copy of Windows 10 on it and the difference was quickly noticeable. The boot times were under 10 seconds (Earlier they ranged from 40-50 seconds to sometimes over a minute) and the App Launching speeds were lightning fast. I, no longer had to wait for the Windows to start and load its apps because everything happened very quickly and you seriously feel that your PC/Laptop has been revived with a new life.

vlcsnap-2016-06-14-14h06m22s134 (2)

So for all of you Laptop/Desktop users who feel that their computers are getting slower, I would definitely recommend you to update to an SSD! It makes a drastic difference  in the performance of a system and you should definitely consider upgrading to an SSD before thinking about getting a new laptop.

vlcsnap-2016-06-14-14h06m41s785

But, No review is complete without some benchmarks and test results. So, I connected the V300 to my Main PC which has the following specifications:

  • i7 4770k CPU
  • Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 7 Motherboard
  • 16GB DDR3 2400Mhz RAM [G.Skill]
  • Cooler Master Seidon 120M CPU Cooler
  • Samsung 840 EVO 240GB as my Primary SSD
  • Zotac Nvidia GTX 780 AMP! 3GB Graphics CardI

I ran a few popular benchmarks like AS SSD and CrystalDiskMark and here are the results of my testing:

Screenshot (3)
CrystalDiskMark Benchmark
Screenshot (6)
AS SSD Read/Write + Copy Benchmark
Screenshot (9)
AS SSD Compression Benchmark

So as you can see, The Read speeds on the V300 are quite decent considering its price but where it falls short is in the write speeds. But considering its price and its age, this was bound to happen. I wouldn’t really recommend power users to get the V300 as it is a budget oriented SSD. For low to medium end users, who are upgrading from a SATA Hard drive and want something that opens their apps fast, quickly boots the OS and eliminates the wait times, The V300 is a very good option. The Kingston V400 is also supposed to come out in the market soon, so you can wait for that too. I will make sure to make a review about it once it is out.

 

vlcsnap-2016-06-14-14h04m35s549

You can learn more about the V300 SSD here: http://www.kingston.com/en/ssd/consumer/sv300s3

I hope you liked this video about the V300 SSD. You can ask your questions about the product to me on my social media pages:

http://twitter.com/gizmoddict

http://facebook.com/gizmoddict

http://instagram.com/gizmoddict

 

Thanks For Reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

